Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ethnic and Cultural Studies

This guide contains library resources on Ethnic and Cultural Studies as well as links to internal and external sources on the topic including additional sources in Spanish.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Library’s Reference Collection includes subject-focused encyclopedias. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

The Reference Collection also includes a variety of other sources where you can find definitions, maps, statistics, and a multitude of facts.

Why not use Wikipedia? Since Wikipedia is an open-source resource, anyone (perhaps a subject expert, a non-expert, or even someone playing a prank) can create or edit a Wikipedia article. On the other hand, reference books go through an editing and often a fact-checking process, which lends a level of trustworthiness to the information provided.  

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information for Ethnic and Cultural Studies topics.

Recommended Subject-Focused Reference Resources

Across Cultures: A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Countries and Their Cultures

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations: A Country-by-Country Guide

Nancy Thompson Library Annex

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender : Men and Women in the World's Cultures

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures : Cities and Cultures Around the World

Reference Collection

Ethnic Studies in the United States: A Guide to Research

Main Collection

Human Rights and the World's Major Religions

Main Collection

Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources

Main Collection

National Geographic Almanac of Geography

Reference Collection -2nd floor

Europa World Year Book

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

The Oxford Companion to Aboriginal Art and Culture

Main Collection

World Music : The Basics

Main Collection

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Reference Collection -2nd floor

Recommended Online Reference Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.