Research Guides: The American Revolution: Find Books

Searching for Books in the Library Catalog

To start, you can find a great, preliminary list of sources by typing "American Revolution" into the WorldCat Discovery search box. Being sure to select the upper tab for Books.

For a more advanced search, use the Library of Congress subject term assigned to books about the American Revolution by searching for: "su: United States History Revolution, 1775-1783" in the library catalog.

Ebook Databases for History

ACLS Humanities E-Book (American Council of Learned Societies)
Provides an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities.
Cornell Open (Cornell University Press)
Provides new and classic out-of-print titles from Cornell University Press. The collection includes key titles in the fields of anthropology, classics, political science, literary criticism and theory, German studies, and Slavic studies.
EBSCOhost eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
Contains a selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a wide range of academic subjects. Over 221,000 titles are included in this collection.
Gale eBooks (Gale Cengage Learning)
A comprehensive collection of reference resources such as subject-focused encyclopedias and dictionaries, available in a single database.
Gutenberg-e
Offers electronic books, digitized primary sources, maps, photographs, and oral histories from a “collaborative effort between Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association."
ProQuest Ebook Central Academic Complete (ProQuest) (VALE)
A large collection of academically oriented electronic books. Kean Google e-mail username and password required on campus.
Taylor & Francis eBooks (Taylor & Francis)
Contains over 3,000 open access eBooks in several subjects, including humanities, politics and international relations, social sciences, and area studies.

The American Revolution

Request Books from Other Libraries through Interlibrary Loan

Find Books in Other Libraries

VALE Reciprocal Borrowing Program

Searching for Books in the Library Catalog

Ebook Databases for History

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact