Skip to Main Content
Recommended Open Educational Resources for Art Educators
Books:
100 Ideas for Active Learning
"100 Ideas for Active Learning is a practical handbook to inspire innovative educational experiences. It is for educators and curriculum designers who wish to apply active learning tools and strategies in their own teaching and learning contexts. Effective learning happens through embodied experiences, when students are utilising all their senses - physical, mental, emotional, and social. In this book, practitioners from around the world have come together to author one hundred short chapters, each with an idea designed to help educators encourage their students to take an active learning approach to their studies".
Digital Teaching and Learning at the U of L
"Open to diverse voices and innovative approaches to teaching and learning in the 21st century".
Authentic Learning
"A brief introduction to authentic learning using anthropological ethnography. This resource utilizes ethnographic case studies to illustrate the concepts of authentic learning".
BSU Introduction to Art
"The BSU Introduction to Art is intended for an undergraduate course in art and art history. It incorporates OER material primarily from Saylor Academy and Lumen/Boundless Art History along with original additions by this editor. Educators may use this adaptation as parts of modules or as the entire reading for a course".
Courses:
Art Education - Performing arts Visual art and Theater
"For Art Teachers, By Art Teachers Art educators deserve support at every stage of their careers. Discover a rich K-12 visual arts curriculum, professional development, relevant resources, online graduate courses, and a rigorous master’s degree program".
Arts Lessons in the Classroom: Visual Art Curriculum - Grade 5
"Skills are refined through making pen and ink drawings, watercolor paintings, and sculptures focusing on proportion, value, and scale. Translating words into pictures and pictures into words is investigated through depicting setting, combining shapes for meaning, using color for mood and responding to art. Students also create prints and then explain the printmaking procedure in writing".
The National Gallery of Art: Learning Resources
"The National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. has an extensive section devoted to educational resources for both educators and students. One example is a pdf or online accessed text on the Dutch Golden Age. This is comprehensive in both history and art objects and is clearly written. There are more images than text, but the sections that are included are instructive. Other topics include the Italian Renaissance, Art since 1950, a module on Arts and Crafts, American Art since the colonial period, etc. Some material is geared toward younger learners, but much of it is appropriate for an introductory, or even next level, art history class. There is no licensing statement, although it is copyrighted. There are teacher resources available as well including assessments and images. Individual teaching packets come with 20 slides, 12 11 x 14 reproductions, a cd with jpgs, and a separate classroom activity guide".
Peers Educating Peers Handbook
"Peers Educating Peers Handbook: Program Overview and Curriculum Guide 2014:
The Peers Educating Peers Program is an initiative of the Center for Arts in Education at Boston Arts Academy. It is made possible by the generous support of the Qatar Foundation International. The Center fosters transformative education. We empower students, schools and communities through artistic and academic innovation".
Other:
Educause: Open Educational Resources (OER)
"Explore this resource site—a collection of all EDUCAUSE resources related to open educational resources (OER) in higher education."
Mason OER Metafinder
"The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button."
MERLOT Collections
This links to art teacher education resources provided by MERLOT open education resources.
OER Commons
This link provides special education resources from the OER Commons Collection.
