Literary Criticism

Covers the periodical literature in a variety of academic disciplines; strong in the humanities and social sciences; good place to search for a few full-text articles.

Contains information to identify books, those currently available or "in print" as well as out-of-print and forthcoming titles.

Provides access to doctoral dissertations and master's theses, most with indexing from 1861, abstracts from 1980, and full-text from 1997 to the present.

The Folger Library in Washington, DC is home to the world's finest collection of Shakespeare materials and memorabilia, as well as rare Renaissance era books and manuscripts.

A list of Shakespearean Criticism web resources compiled by the New York Public Library.

"SHAKSPER, now in its twenty-fifth year of serving the academic community, is an edited and moderated, international, e-mail distribution list for discussion among Shakespearean scholars, researchers, instructors, students, and anyone sharing their academic interests and concerns. In addition to regular mailings to members, anyone can use the Internet to access the archives and other SHAKSPER materials from the SHAKSPER website shaksper.net. SHAKSPER strives to emphasize the scholarly by providing the opportunity for the formal exchange of ideas through queries and responses regarding literary, critical, textual, theoretical, and performative topics and issues".

A historical trust based in Shakespeare's hometown of Stratford-upon-Avon, the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust is devoted to perpetuating the enjoyment of the works of Shakespeare.

Provides a list of Literary Criticism links for all 36 of Shakespeare's Plays and including the sonnets. Links provided by the Houston Public Library.

A comprehensive collection of resources and essays compiled by English major and Shakespeare Aficionado Amanda Mabillard

An online resource provided by the Shakespeare department at MIT, this page provides the full text of Shakespeare's 36 plays and collection of poetry.

An extensive collection of theatrical resources along with essays and links about William Shakespeare and the stage.

An extensive list of English Literary resources compiled by Dr. Alan Liu of the University of California, Santa Barbara. The Voice of the Shuttle is a comprehensive web resource involving many different fields of study.

Bartleby.com is a site devoted to reproducing many of the great works of world literature that are in the public domain and allowing users free access to these works on the Web. This site highlights Bartleby's Shakespeare resources, including the complete works for free online.