Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Humanities

A Wenzhou-Kean University 2018 Student Partnering with Staff (SpS) Research Program Project, A Pathway to Digital Humanities, seeks both to gauge and stimulate interest in digital humanities.

What is the Animated Archive ?

Archive refers to not only public administrative records, but also to the entire corpus of material remains that the past, whether distant or close, has bequeathed to the present: artifacts, writing books, works of art, personal documents. The Digital Humanities offers new challenges and possibilities for institutions of memory such as archives, libraries, and museums approaches to conservation and preservation; participatory models of content production and curatorship bringing together scholars in team-based projects.

The "animation" of archives stands for archival processing. This implies a user-centered approach to the construction of archives tha builds a multiplicity of  use-scenarios into the very architecture of the archive. The memory palaces of the 21ST century will have much more permeable wall and the future of the knowledge will emphasize embedding of the virtual within the real in cultural, social and political practice.

SOURCE: Burdick, A., Drucker, J., Lunenfeld, P., Pressner, T., & Schnapp, J. (2012). Digital Humanities. Cambridge, MA: Massachuetts Institute of Technology. Retrieved from https://mitpress.mit.edu/books/digitalhumanities

Videos on Animated Archive

Books on the Animated Archive

Science in the archives : pasts, presents, futures

With Science in the Archives, authors offer the first study of the important role that these archives play in the natural and human sciences. Reaching across disciplines and centuries, contributors cover episodes in the history of astronomy, geology, genetics, philology, and more--as well as collecting, retrieval, and data mining. Thoroughly exploring the practices, politics, economics, and potential of the sciences of the archives, this volume reveals the essential historical dimension of the sciences.

Archives, Documentation, and Institutions of Social Memory

As sites of documentary preservation rooted in various national and social contexts, artifacts of culture, and places of uncovering, archives provide tangible evidence of memory for individuals, communities, and states, as well as defining memory institutionally within prevailing political systems and cultural norms. The essays in this book conceive of archives not simply as historical repositories but as a complex of structures, processes, and epistemologies.