Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Harlem Renaissance

This guide features information and resources for research on the Harlem Renaissance, a revival of art, music, and culture which took place in Manhattan's Harlem district in the 20s, 30s, and early 40s.

My Profile

Profile Photo
Kean University Featured Guides
Contact:
Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu
Linda Cifelli lcifelli@kean.edu
Chrisler Pitts cpitts@kean.edu
Website

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

OER

Click the link below for Open Educational Resources on The Harlem Renaissance:

Mason OER Metafinder

Online Encyclopedia Databases for the Harlem Renaissance

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

Need to select a research topic or find background information?  

The Reference Collection includes a variety of different sources, such as: subject-focused encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, maps/atlases, statistical compendiums, dictionaries, and more. Look here to find introductory articles on subject-related topics. The broad perspective offered by such articles often proves helpful for narrowing research topics before pursuing more in-depth information. 

This guide provides some recommendations for encyclopedias and other reference resources that might provide helpful information relating to your topic.

Recommended Subject-Focused Encyclopedias

African-American Art

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

African American Art: Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights Era, and Beyond

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

African American Encyclopedia

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-10

African Americans: Voices of Triumph, Leadership

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Second Floor)

African Americans: Voices of Triumph, Perseverance

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Second Floor)

Biographical History of African-American Artists, A-Z

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Early Black American Playwrights and Dramatic Writers

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Encyclopedia of African American Society

Electronic Resource
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of African American Society

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-2

Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection Section (Second Floor), Volumes 1-2

Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Harlem Renaissance: A Historical Dictionary for the Era

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers, 1900-1945

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Historical and Cultural Atlas of African Americans

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Second Floor)

International Dictionary of Black Composers

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Literary Sisters

Electronic Resource

Social History of the United States

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Reference Collection (Second Floor)
Volumes 1-10

Zora Neale Hurston

Nancy Thompson Learning Commons (Library) Main Collection (Third Floor)

Recommended Multimedia Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.