The phrase "reference resource" typically signifies a resource that may be consulted for relatively quick access to information, such as definitions, facts, figures, statistics, biographical information, background information, and so on. Reference information may be found in the following locations:
- Print and Ebook Reference Collection -- Reference books are shelved in the Reference Collection on the second floor of the Nancy Thompson Learning Commons. Reference books do not circulate (they may not be checked out). However, print reference books may be consulted in the building, and relevant pages may be photocopied or scanned. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.
- Online Reference Databases -- A growing number of databases provide reference information. You may access these databases by visiting the Learning Commons home page, then clicking "Databases A-Z" to access the Databases page. Look for "Reference" or "Reference Resources" under the "All Subjects" or "All Database Types" categories.
- Reference Web Sites -- Numerous other reference resources are freely available on the Web. Be sure to evaluate such resources carefully.
Each section of this Research Guide lists reference resources --print reference books and reference ebooks, reference databases, reference Web sites -- as they fall into various subject or format categories. Click the tabs above to access Reference Resources organized into specific categories.
