Research Guides: Reference Resources: Government Information

Government Information

The Nancy Thompson Learning Commons web site provides a wealth of government reference information in addition to the thousands of U.S. Government Online Documents available through the Search WorldCat box on the website.

Do you need a government document?

Recommended Government Information (Print and Ebooks)

American Political Leaders, 1789-2009

Electronic Resource

Elections in the Americas: A Data Handbook. Volume 1: North America, Central America, and the Caribbean

Electronic Resource

Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations

Main Collection (Third Floor)

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics

Main Collection

Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy

Reference Collection (Second Floor)

Handbook of Public Affairs

Electronic Resource

Women in Congress, 1917-2006

U.S. Government Online Document
Electronic Resource

Recommended Government Information Web Sites

County and Municipal Web Sites, State of New Jersey
County of Union, New Jersey
Departments & Agencies, State of New Jersey
Federal Election Commission
Local Courts in Your County, New Jersey Judiciary
National Institute of Justice, The Research, Development, and Evaluation Agency of the U.S. Department of Justice
New Jersey Department of Education
New Jersey Department of Health & Senior Services
New Jersey Department of Human Services
New Jersey Municipalities
New Jersey Register
Search Instructions:
1. Agree to Terms and Conditions
2. Close Michie's Legal Resources page
3. Select NJ-New Jersey Register
New Jersey State League of Municipalities
New Jersey Tax Records Search
OpenSecrets.org, Center for Responsive Politics
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
"The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton. As subsequent volumes are published, they will be added online."
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1991-present)
Provides access to the public papers of President George H.W. Bush, President Bill Clinton, President George W. Bush, President Barack Obama.
State of New Jersey
State of New Jersey: Municipal and County Government
Thomas: Legislative Information from the Library of Congress
U.S. Department of Education
U.S. Department of Justice
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
USA.gov: U.S. Government’s Official Web Portal

Recommended Online Government Information Databases

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

CQ Almanac (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window "The CQ Almanac Online Edition brings together over sixty-three years of authoritative Congressional reporting in one, easy-to-use resource. The CQ Almanac offers original analysis and data on major legislation and political dates during each Congressional session back to 1945."
CQ Press Library (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window Provides simultaneous searching of all Congressional Quarterly Press online collections, featuring resources in the fields of government, politics, and public affairs. Includes access to many resources of the U.S. government.
HeinOnline: The Modern Link to Legal History This link opens in a new window Features archival access to select law reviews and law journals; documents by and about U.S. presidents; historical and contemporary reports and books about the U.S. Supreme Court.
LexisNexis -- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Offers business, news, and legal information from sources such as newspapers, magazines, journals, newsletters, wire services, and transcripts. Also features company profiles, detailed financials, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and SEC filings, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, federal regulations, and state administrative codes. This database replaces LexisNexis Academic.
Military Database (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Covers government and military topics, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications.
Political Handbook of the World (CQ Press/Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window "Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations."
World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window Features the current constitution of every country in the world, with text provided in its original language(s) and in English translation. Also provides "more than 800 classic books on constitutions, constitutional history and jurisprudence, and political and economic history."

Reference Resources

My Profile

Ask a Librarian

Government Information

Recommended Government Information (Print and Ebooks)

American Political Leaders, 1789-2009

Elections in the Americas: A Data Handbook. Volume 1: North America, Central America, and the Caribbean

Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections

Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations

Encyclopedia of Media and Politics

Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy

Handbook of Public Affairs

Women in Congress, 1917-2006

Recommended Government Information Web Sites

Recommended Online Government Information Databases

Library Services

Learning Support Services

Contact