College of Business and Public AdministrationCollege of EducationCollege of Humanities and Social SciencesCollege of Natural, Applied, and Health SciencesCollege of Visual and Performing Arts
This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "Grant Funding and Proposal Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Grant Funding and Proposal Writing  

This guide contains resources on grant funding opportunities as well as tips and examples for proposal writing.
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.kean.edu/grantfunding Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Online Reference Databases

The SPIN and GENIUS databases listed below are provided courtesy of Kean University's Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP). These databases are available on-campus to members of the Kean community. For more information about SPIN and GENIUS, please visit the ORSP website

The other databases listed below are available through the Library. Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Library Barcode number. Find out how to get a Barcode.

  • SPIN (available on campus)
    SPIN is a database of funding opportunities. Although SPIN has a new search interface, previous users "should be able to use the same GENIUS Profile username and password combination as you have been using." Click the GENIUS link below to set up or revise your profile.
  • GENIUS (available on campus)
    Researchers at Kean University may create profiles to be housed within the GENIUS database, which fosters connections between researchers from different institutions who have similar research interests. A GENIUS profile will also enable use of SMARTS, an automated email alert service that matches investigators with grant and contract announcements based on their user profiles.
  • Chronicle of Philanthropy - Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (NJSL/NJKI)
    Academic Search Premier provides access to this periodical, which "[p]rovides news & information for fund raisers, professional employees of foundations, corporate grant makers, & people who work for non-profit, tax exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, & social services."
 

  Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a unique database that locates both printed and online reference material that might otherwise remain hidden. It searches back-of-the-book indexes and article titles in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference works owned by Kean University Library.

Type any word or phrase in the box below, then click Search.
 
Enter your search terms:
 

Recommended Reference Titles

The following encyclopedias and dictionaries are recommended for research relating to Grant Funding and Proposal Writing.  Books with a Call Number beginning with the letters "Ref" are shelved in alphanumeric order by call number in the Reference Collection on the first floor or in the Reference Collection Annex on the second floor of the Kean University Library. Books with the designation "Electronic Resource" are e-books, which are accessible by clicking the hyperlinked title.

Cover Art
Annual Register of Grant Support
Call Number: Ref AS 911 .A2 A67
This comprehensive directory provides information regarding sources of grant funding, including government agencies, public and private foundations, corporations, educational associations, and more.
Reference Collection Annex (Second Floor)

Cover Art
Complete Writing Guide to NIH Behavioral Science Grants
Call Number: Ref RA 11 .D6 C65 2007
ISBN: 9780195320275
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Directory of Research Grants 2006
Call Number: Ref LB 2338 D5986 2006
ISBN: 1573566195
This directory lists programs that provide grant funding for research projects in "medicine, the physical and social sciences, the arts and humanities, education, community and economic development, and children and youth programs."
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Finding Funding
Call Number: Ref LB 2342.4.U6 B74 2008
ISBN: 9781412959995
The latest edition of this resource incorporates the latest technologies and electronic resources relating to the grantwriting process, including "Grants.gov, e-Grant, e-Reader, and e-Application."
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Foundation Directory
Call Number: Ref AS 911.A2 F65
ISBN: 9781595423610
Published by the Foundation Center, this comprehensive directory of U.S. private and community foundations provides information about possible sources of funds.
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
National Directory of Corporate Giving
Call Number: Ref HV 89 .N26
Published by the Foundation Center, this directory lists direct corporate giving programs as well as "foundations and grantmaking public charities" that have been "established and funded primarily by companies."
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Proposal Writing: Effective Grantsmanship
Call Number: Ref HV 41 .C548 2008
ISBN: 9781412937757
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Cover Art
Successful Grant Writing
Call Number: Ref HV 41.2 .G58 2008
ISBN: 9780826132734
This resource provides guidance for the entire grantseeking process: location of funding sources, understanding a call for proposals, budget development, formation of a collaborative team, writing and submission of a proposal, and grant award management.
Reference Collection (First Floor)

Kean University Library

Profile Image
Kean University Featured Guides
Contact Info
Craig Anderson cjanders@kean.edu
Linda Cifelli
lcifelli@kean.edu
Janette Gonzalez jagonzal@kean.edu
Shirley Horbatt shorbatt@kean.edu
Chrisler Pitts
cpitts@kean.edu

Ask a Librarian

Listed below are options available for you to contact a reference librarian and ask for help with your research.

Disclaimer: The Kean University Library is not responsible for the content of Web sites sponsored by external entities. Links are for educational purposes only. A Web site's presence on this list does not represent an endorsement of the site's contents. Some sites may contain graphic images or text.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip