Research Guides: Database of the Month: November 2016 -- ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (VALE)

November 2016

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of business publications, including full text for the Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times.

Are you searching for a business case study? Do you need an up-to-date company profile for Google or Microsoft? Or, would you like to read the latest news on the economy? The ABI/INFORM Collection database is an excellent starting point!

ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of three ProQuest databases: ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. This database provides access to thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, and newspapers. You can also find dissertations, conference proceedings, working papers, and market reports. The coverage is comprehensive, delivering access to local, regional, national, and international business publications.

This database provides several ways to locate information. In addition to the Basic Search, the Advanced Search option gives you a variety of choices for customizing your results. You can look up Companies/Organizations, NAICS (North American Industry Classification System codes), Locations, People, Classification Codes, or Product Names.

The Browse option delivers an assortment of resources including Industry and Market Reports, Commodity Reports, Country Reports, ProQuest Business Dissertations and Theses, and Topic Paths. Topic Paths provide a list of business topics with the accompanying search results.

The Publications option directs you to the index of publications available in the database, with coverage dating back to 1855. This index is searchable by title or subject.

If you have questions about the ABI/INFORM Collection database or any of the Kean University Library's other research databases, please consult Ask a Librarian for assistance.

C. Pitts, November 1, 2016

If you like this database, try some of these...

Working from off campus? If so, you will need to log in with your Kean Google username and password.

Asian & European Business Collection (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Focuses on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout Asia and Europe.
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Provides corporate data, in-depth industry analyses, summary financials, and information on company locations, top competitors, and officers. Also features worldwide market data reports and analytical articles covering economic and political topics. Includes information provided by Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots (Snapdata International Group).
Note: To locate a company profile, search for the company name and Hoover's, e.g., Microsoft Hoover's.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost) (NJSL) This link opens in a new window Features articles from more than 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985. Also provides more than 10,000 company profiles from Datamonitor.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Provides industry market research and industry risk ratings on more than 700 American industries. Includes market conditions and forecasts, supply chains, and competitor activity ascertained from analysis of economic, demographic, and government data.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window Offers company profiles (including SWOT analyses), case studies, country information, and comprehensive market information on a variety of industries.
Mergent Online (FTSE Russell) (VALE) This link opens in a new window Provides global company and industry information; includes public company descriptions, financial data, annual reports, equity reports, industry reports, and country profiles. NOTE: Permits only five simultaneous users. Please Log Out when finished.